What was the name of the British colonies in Africa?

How many countries were colonized by the British?

From 1880-1900 Britain gained control over or occupied what are now known as Egypt, Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, South Africa, Gambia, Sierra Leone, northwestern Somalia, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Botswana, Nigeria, Ghana, and Malawi. Click to see full answer Furthermore, how many countries were colonized by British? 22 countries

Where did the colonisation of Africa take place?

In the Middle Ages, North and East Africa was further colonised by people from Western Asia. In the Modern Era, Western Europeans colonised all parts of the continent, culminating in the Scramble for Africa in the late 19th century. Ancient and Medieval colonisation Main articles: Roman Africans and Romans in Sub-Saharan Africa

What did the British do with their slaves in Africa?

As far as Africa was concerned, the British gained the legal right to transport slaves directly to the Spanish colonies in Central and Southern America for the first time. This was known as the ‘Asiento’.

Who was the first country to colonize Africa?

In the years 1884 and 1885, the Berlin Conference formalized European colonization of Africa. Prior to this time, world superpowers such as Portugal, France, and Britain had already set up colonies in Africa.

What kind of rule did the British have in Africa?

Settler Rule . Another system of British colonial administration was the settler rule system that occurred where Britain had large populations of European immigrants. These immigrants settled and established direct rule over the colonies in Africa especially in southern and eastern Africa.

When did the decolonization of Asia and Africa begin?

Decolonization of Asia and Africa, 1945-1960. Between 1945 and 1960, three dozen new states in Asia and Africa achieved autonomy or outright independence from their European colonial rulers. There was no one process of decolonization.

How many African countries are part of the British Commonwealth?

Interestingly, 18 African countries that were formerly British colonies have chosen to remain connected to Great Britain as members of the British Commonwealth. Let’s take a couple moments to review what we’ve learned about the British colonies that came to exist in Africa.

When did Africa gain independence after World War 2?

Progress towards independence was slow up until the mid-20th century. By 1977, 54 African countries had seceded from European colonial rulers. During the world wars, African soldiers were conscripted into imperial militaries.

Who are the seven countries that colonized Africa?

By 1900, when the force of the quick colonization was over, the majority of the land in Africa was divided up amongst seven different European colonizing nations: Britain, France, Spain, Germany, Belgium, Italy, and Portugal. There were several different reasons why European colonizers set their…

Why did Great Britain want to colonize Africa?

Another resource in Africa was rubber which was very helpful and used in making many good-selling items like shoes. Great Britain ruled present day Sudan, Kenya, Botswana,Lesotho, Egypt, Northern Somalia, Eastern Ghana,Benin ,Gambia and Niger Great Britain used indirect rule to control their colonies.

What was the name of the British colonies in Africa?

Britain had many colonies in Africa: in British West Africa there was Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, Southern Cameroon, and Sierra Leone; in British East Africa there was Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar); and in British South Africa there was South Africa, Northern Rhodesia (Zambia), Southern Rhodesia (Zimbabwe).

See also  Are Malawi cichlids mouth brooders?

Leave a Comment